Impression – Mini-Monograph – Grids

I wanted to get a better understanding of where Crouwel came from ( design wise ) and how he worked.

So I started looking in more detail at Swiss design and grid systems, using Lynda.com to get an overview on the subjects as well as teach me how to apply and use grids within InDesign.

I also looked at Grids by Ambrose / Harris and The Design Museum catalogue for their Wim Crouwel exhibition from a few years ago, which has a great in depth interview with him in conversation with Tony Brook.

I then started to map out the alignments of the compositions on his posters, as well as draw out letterforms using grids to get a better feeling of the building blocks of his typefaces.

This was all very useful and I think propelled my understanding of layouts and grids forward massively. The Lynda videos were especially interesting and i’d recommend to everyone.

Leave a Reply

